This Little Light of Mine

Image result for light coming through trees

Like the where is your faith question that always follows me the word “Light” also accompanies it.  I think about it so much in comparison to the dark. I enjoy things rhat remind me of Light including the sun, sunflowers and of course the word of God as I try to immerse myself in such things. Today I read Luke 11 and it talked about prayers and hearing the word of god but what stood out to me most were the scriptures about Light. A few weeks ago I wrote a blog post entitled “Walking into the Light” in response to me finally closing the door of a long relationship that filled the empty and often times lonely part of my life. I needed comfort and stability and I used the relationship turned friendship for that but it hit me one day. I needed to be putting that very energy into the word and into my relationship with for only he can provide. God tells us in Psalms 17-18 that that “The righteous cry out and the lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart and saves such as have a contrite spirit.

So I decided to cry out to the Lord. I decided to seek the extraordinary love of Christ instead of settle for the idle comforts of the world. I officially wanted to walk into the light because I knew God would be waiting there with open arms. In Proverbs 5 he teaches us to “Trust in him with all of our hearts and lean not on our own understanding” because he is aware of how easily we become misguided and swayed by the worldly things. I wanted to truly “in all ways acknowledge him and he shall direct my path” – Proverbs 6 because I needed some guidance. I needed to wallk into the light.

So fast forward to today as I sit on the grass mat of my hut in Mpompotha reading Luke 11 I am reminded of my responsibility as a Christian and as a believer. Luke 33 “No one, when he has lit a lamp, puts it in a secret place or under a basket, but on a lamp stand that those who come in may see the light”. So we as Christians must be pure in our intentions. When we meet people we must not force feed scriptures to people but yet try our hardest to live life as God intended. A life of pure Love for both ourselves and for others. That is the second highest commandment which is to love our neighbor as we love ourselves. In doing so people will see the Christ in us and be drawn to us as Christians. From experience its not always what you say but what you do. People are always watching and boy do they take notes. So let your light shine bright for the world to see. Be eager to share your testimony and all of the wonderful things god is doing in your life.  I promise it will resonate in someone and they will listen.

More than anything people want to see that you are human. They want to see that you too fall down and make mistakes. Lets face it no one like a  Misses perfect. What good does it do for you and for the world to walk around on a high horse looking down on others? A prime example of this was in Luke 11:39-40 when Jesus was talking to the Pharises and said “Now you pharises make the outside of the cup and dish clean but your inward part is full of greed and weakness. Foolish ones! Did not he who made the outside make the inside also? Like just because you present yourself in a certain way on the outside means absolutely nothing if your heart isn’t pure.

My daily prayer to god comes from Psalms 51:10-13 “Create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and do not take your holy spirit away from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me by your generous spirit. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners shall be converted to you”. This prayer renews my responsibility as a Christian and follower of Christ to live a just life and honor him in every encounter. This prayer works for me and I would like to encourage you to try it also.

I would like to leave you with this final scripture Luke 11:34-35 “The lamp of the body is the eye. Therefore when your eye is good your whole body also is full of light. But when your eye is bad your body also is full of darkness. Therefore take heed that the light which is in your is not darkness”. Remember, God is in all of us so seek beauty in each and everything because they are all apart of God’s creations. Let your light shine thru. It’s time.

Leave a Reply

