Self-Acceptance Challenge

So from the last blog post you can see how much fun I had at GLOW Camp 2k17. The camp was filled with such great energy and amazing counselor lead sessions for the girls. Of course I sat in on almost all of them because I am always excited to learn. One of the sessions that stood out for me was the one on Self- Acceptance. What exactly is that? I thought the definition given to the girls was excellent so I wanted to share it.

Self acceptance is an invitation to stop trying to change yourself into the person you wish to be; long enough to find out who you really are.

Wow. I hope you enjoyed that definition as much as I did. For me it was exactly what I needed to hear. I feel like I’m always changing but the core of me always stays the same. I’ve been struggling with accepting the fact that I’m single, away from family and friends, out of shape, and not always my optimistic self. So I decided to challenge myself to jumps start my acceptance of my current self and embrace the adversity and understand that God has a plan for my life that doesn’t need my approval or understanding.

The session have an excellent list of 8 ways to jump start self acceptance that I would like to share.

  1. be kind to yourself. (no one judges you more that you judge yourself. be patient with yourself and accept your flaws)
  2. confront your fears
  3. stay positive (write yourself sweet notes)
  4. accept imperfection
  5. don’t take it personally
  6. forgive wholeheartedly
  7. believe in yourself (try and fail but don’t fail to try)
  8. don’t give up no matter what

So I challenge you to join me on the is self acceptance journey. I can’t guarantee that you won’t experience discomfort, minor set backs, etc but what I can ensure is that it will be worth it.

Leave a Reply

